The Storyteller’s Art Class

Banner3333333

threehearts2

I have been taking this wonderful on-line class with Robin Laws called “The Storyteller’s Art Class” and I am really loving the techniques that she teaches so well.

We are working with acrylic paints and an acrylic glazing medium, and I specifically used Liquitex Glazing Medium.  So far we have made story cards and a fancy box to store the story cards in, and have painted our first storyboard painting which I have now completed.

I wanted to take some time to share the last step of my first storyboard painting which I completed just now while I took pictures.  I love my finished painting but this last technique, although a little scary, adds so much to the overall look.

Here is a picture of my finished storyboard before I did the last step:

Storyboard7

I really love the look of this painting using a simple palette of only 4 acrylic paints; i.e., True Blue, Van Dyke Brown, Yellow Ochre all by Folk Art and Titan Buff Fluid Acrylic by Golden, as well as white Gesso.

But now I’m about to show you the last step, that frankly, when I saw Robin do for the first time, I immediately decided to skip that step!  I just didn’t want to take the chance after putting so much time into making a piece of art 🙂 Well, as you will see, I changed my mind and went for it! 🙂

Storyboard8

I used wax paper, 50/50 of Van Dyke Brown and Glazing Medium, a medium flat brush, and baby wipes.

Storyboard9

After my painting was completely dry, using my flat brush I mixed the paint and glaze then painted over my entire DRIED painting – Then I let it sit for about 1 minute.

Storyboard10

After one minute, I took one of my baby wipes (I used four total)…

Storyboard11

and began wiping off the glaze mix…

Storyboard12

I decided that I wanted the Bride to stay white, so I wiped her off first and then proceeded to wipe away the glaze around her moving outward, leaving most of the glaze mix around the edges…

Storyboard13

I decided to add another layer of the glaze mix, just around the edges and waited another minute before wiping again…

Storyboard14

You can see how I was able to keep the Bride fairly white…

Storyboard15

It’s kind of messy, but it’s fun and I love how it turned out!!!!

Storyboard16

I absolutely love the end result and can’t wait to continue on with my class – There’s still so much to learn about Storytelling with Robin Laws 🙂  

Here are my before and after glazing pictures:

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

You may also like to read: A Beautiful Day! with beginning photos of this painting 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “The Storyteller’s Art Class

    • Good Morning Victoria,

      I really like how it turned out too! It was kind of crazy to paint that dark brown glaze over my painting that I had worked so hard on!!! Are you going to try this technique? As soon as I do a character study or two, I will add a story to my painting. I would like to do at least three storyboards to go along with this particular story… We’ll see what else emerges. 🙂

      Blessings to you my English Friend!

      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

