A Beautiful Day!

Banner3333333

threehearts2

Today was such a beautiful day!  The day before Spring and it was 60 degrees and I just had to play outside all day 🙂  First thing this morning I checked to see if my five new chicks did fine through the night in their first outdoor run – and of course I found them happy and playfully enjoying themselves in their new (temporary) home.

As you already know if you follow my blog, I have an established flock of chickens – one rooster and nine hens:

“Big Red” – a Road Island Red Rooster
“Tori” (named after Queen Victoria of England) –  White Plymouth Rock
“Brahma Girl” – a Light Brahma Cochin
“Lacey” – a White Laced Cochin
“Egger Allen” (named after Edgar Allan Poe) – an Easter Egger
“The Aussie Girls” – five Black Australorps

IMG_5320

IMG_4808

Here’s an interesting picture I accidentally took of three of my chickens…

ChickensCrazyPic

I purchased the five new chicks when they were just one day old and they are now six weeks.  In ten more weeks (16 weeks old) I will be adding them to the rest of the flock.  But for now, they have moved from my 6 foot long brooder to their very own little chicken run with homemade coop and heat lamp.  There are three Easter Eggers, one Golden Laced Wyandotte and one Mottled Java – all of which I hope are hens and seem to be so far 🙂

In May I have three more Light Brahma Cochins coming!  I can’t wait for these three because they are so adorable with their feathered feet (you can see Brahma Girl’s feathery feet in the picture above) and they have the cutest personalities, even when full grown. Our Brahma Girl is like the little princess of our flock!

Later this week I will write a blog post on how to add new chickens to your existing flock and tell you all about what I have done so far to make it as much of a SimplyLiving transition as possible for all involved.  It should be VERY interesting indeed!

Enough about my chickens.

I also spent a lot of time outside just tidying up after the winter months and the crazy wind and rain storm we had last weekend.  I put pretty pink flowers in pots for the patio, washed down the outdoor table and chairs and put them out. Set up my new bird bath (a personal early Mother’s Day gift), swept and raked all the wondering leaves, and laid down some fresh bark. Just Heavenly!

Blinkin Squiggle

This evening I had some fun indoors as well while I continued working on a painting I’m doing for a new class I’m taking.  If you haven’t heard about it – I HIGHLY recommend the class and the teacher!  Robin Laws is a most excellent storyteller and artist who has totally caught me off guard by her wonderful class called “The Storyteller’s Art”.  Even though this class is currently sold out, you can get on her waiting list and again, I highly recommend doing so.  You can click on the blue link to get on her list.

This class has truly brought a new kind of joy into creating art for me.  It has helped me to give life to my paintings through storytelling in a way I have never thought to do. I’m so glad I took the time to take this class!

Below are some pictures of things I have made in The Storyteller’s class so far:  A special Story Card Box, my personal Story Cards, and my first Storyboard – which I absolutely love working on – and I’m still not done  🙂

Storyboxcards2

Storyboxcards1

Storyboard1

Storyboard3

Storyboard4

Storyboard2

And here’s what I added to my Storyboard painting today:

Storyboard5

Storyboard6

When I’m finished with the class, I will tell you the story behind the paintings I create and more about the characters, including the observer in the window of the church…

It reminds me of a song by Leeland, “Pure Bride” , have you heard it? – You’ll want to click on this link and listen all the way to the end because there’s a great question we should all ask ourselves. It’s beautiful!

Well blessings for the first day of Spring to you all! With the Sweet Love of Jesus your way…

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

You may also like to read “The Storyteller’s Art Class” to see the finished painting.

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day!

  1. Hi Constance, it makes me so happy to read about your lovely day outdoors. And then to arrive at your art! I just love your bride on the cliff top, the wonderful majestic ship, and beautiful, simple church, and the colours – everything about it! I can’t wait to hear the story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

