Are They Worth It?

Banner3333333

threehearts2

In the past couple years I have been taking notice once again of a life-long passion I have had for the arts.  I grew up anticipating that I would some day become an interior decorator because I thought that would fulfill my desire to work with and be surrounded by color. But as I approached college days, I made some other choices that led me in a direction that used my organization skills instead.  As always, God knew just what He was doing and it all worked out well with me ultimately becoming a stay-at-home, homeschooling Mom.  Best job EVER! 🙂

As a Mom I continued creating colorful things, painting pictures for my new baby’s room, crocheting, cross-stitch, sewing – basically anything that brought color into our home and relieved me of my deep, deep desire to create.

Many of you can probably relate to my post so far, and I wonder, have you considered taking online art courses, but find that you are just not sure where to begin and if they will be worth the money?

Just in case you are wondering, I wanted to take some time and write a post on my recent experience with online art classes.  I consider myself to be a sort of connoisseur since I have taken so many classes as of late and would love to share my experiences with you – I hope you don’t mind… 🙂

One of the first classes I took that really changed my art and helped me get excited about mixed media was Cathy Bluteau’s class called “It Takes A Village”.  I loved her class and give it 5 stars!  This is one of three projects I made in her class:

cloudydaysXIII

“HomeSweetHome” by Constance

Here’s the link to the class I took with Cathy:  It Takes A Village

Blinkin Squiggle

After taking Cathy’s class I was on a roll and wanted to find some more great art classes to take.  While searching, I came across Jeanne Oliver and found many wonderful classes of which I have now taken 14! Jeanne’s Network consists of many wonderful art teachers and many of the classes she offers are free.  As a matter of fact, it was in a free class that I learned how much I loved working with white Gesso, Charcoal and Stabilo pencils.  I easily give all of the classes I have taken in Jeanne’s Creative Network 5 stars and I can’t wait till I have the time to take more!  Here’s a recent portrait I created with just one of the skills I have learned from Jeanne…

WithAllYourHeart

“With All Your Heart” by Constance

Here’s the link to the courses that Jeanne offers:  My Creative Network

Blinkin Squiggle

Around that same time, I came across a tutorial by Ivette Newport on Pinterest and checked it out.  I remember loving Ivy’s free video on creating a Plaster of Paris cover for my art journal so much that I just had to take a class from her.  Well since then I have taken two amazing classes:  Flight & Feather and Shades of White.  I give both of these classes 5 stars and highly recommend both of them.  I simply cannot wait to be able to take another of her classes and I would love to go on one of her art retreats someday as well!  I learned so much from these two classes, but something I did that was really special was finish the Plaster of Paris cover to my art journal.  Ivy showed me how to cover this mixed media art I made with hot encaustic bees wax!!!  It is truly sublime!!!!!  You just have to try it for yourself!

PlasterCoverArtJournalFinished

My Art Journal

Here’s a link to Ivy’s courses:  Ivy Newport Art Classes

Blinkin Squiggle

One last class I want to talk about is with Kara Bullock, called Let’s Face It, 2016.  I have never taken a class quite like this, in that we are given a new project to work on each week over 50 weeks.  It is an all portrait class taught by many artists and each one brings a different perspective and technique to creating a portrait.  I am only in my fourth week of this class, but Kara Bullock is amazing me with her organization skills of over 16 art teachers and over 650 students, online, all together in one place creating some of the most amazing portraits I have ever feasted my eyes upon!!! WOW! is truly all I can say!  After this course is over, I know I will never be the same creative in so many wonderful ways!  I give this course 5 stars for every week we go through – and that’s a lot of stars!!  Here’s a portrait I created with Petra Stein just one of the many wonderful guest artists on Let’s Face It, 2016:

PetraGirl4

“PetraGirl” by Constance

Here’s the link to Kara Bullock’s Art Classes – and it’s not too late to join her “Let’s Face It, 2016”!  I highly recommend it 🙂  Kara Bullock Art

Well, there you have it.  If you would like to see more classes I have taken or would like to take in the future, you can see my wish list HERE.  I hope you will check out these wonderful artists and the many amazing online courses they offer – you really owe it to yourself to try at least one of them and grow in the artistic you in 2016!

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

2 thoughts on “Are They Worth It?

Leave a Reply

