Plaster Art Journal

Banner3333333
threehearts2

My SimplyLiving Plaster Art Journal
Please consider joining me as I make art in this SimplyLiving Plaster Art Journal.
I purchased this journal at Michaels.
It is white with a fabric covering.  The pages are perfect for taking Gesso or Matte Medium and also hold up well under lots of layers of mixed media.

I changed the cover of this art journal by applying plaster,
which makes it feel so amazing!

Someday I plan to paint on the cover, but until I am inspired to do so,
here’s what I do inside.

Okay, I’ve gotten inspired to finish the cover of my Plaster Art Journal.  I added mixed media with Matte Medium and then finished it with encaustic medium.  Stayed tuned for what I’ve learned about encaustic – you won’t want to miss it because it is so amazing!  I think you’ll agree.

PlasterCoverArtJournalFinished

Blinkin Squiggle

My newest page…
(You can click on any picture for a LARGER view)

I just started a new on-line art class on Monday, November 9 with Ivy Newport called Flight and Feather and I’m loving it.  Today we had our first journal entry and of course I want to record my studies in my wonderful Plaster Journal that I made from one of Ivy’s tutorials.
Here’s my first spread called “Feather Study”

Photography by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

From Left to Right: Pheasant Feather, Blue Jay Feather & Parrot Feather in Charcoal & White Gesso

Here’s my second spread called “Wing Study”

2ndSpreadF&F
I will add my bird in flight on the left side at some point…

Here’s my fourth spread called “Inky Blackbirds”

InkyBlackbirds
Although I didn’t really like this technique at the time, I like seeing the art that came out of it.

Here’s my sixth spread called “An Orange Colored Nest” inspired by “Lethargy”, a song written by my youngest son, Matthew.  You can listen to the song at Matthew Reeder Music.

AnOrangeColoredNest
This is a mixed media page using pieces from magazines and a quote from Leonardo da Vinci

threehearts2
Where It All Began…
IMG_4688If you would like more information on how I made this amazing Plaster of Paris cover for my SimplyLiving Art Journal, click HERE

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4690  Inspired by 1 Peter 3:3-4 “In God’s Sight”, after watching Ivy’s Video

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4696 Inspired by Hebrews 13:2 & Matthew 6:22-23 “The Eye”

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4692 Inspired by Luke 9:57 “Lord, I Will Follow You”.  I have put this one on a large canvas!

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4693Inspired by an 1899 painting called “Clematis”, I titled this one “Melancholy” because I noticed that the way I was feeling on that particular day was displayed in my art.
I watched Jeanne’s Video from “The Living Studio” course, while creating this piece.

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4723  Inspired by Hebrews 12:2 “Fix Your Eyes On Jesus”, on the left
and
Inspired by Psalm 62:5 “Yes, My Soul, Find Rest in God”, on the right

Blinkin Squiggle

IMG_4737  Inspired by Cover of Hudson Taylor’s Autobiography, on the left
and
a self portrait of me, at Easter when I was a baby, on the right
I seriously laughed my way through my self portrait!  I did my best, but still Mr. Taylor seemed to be shocked at my efforts! Ha Ha! 🙂

Blinkin Squiggle

On the left, Inspired by a great class I am taking online called “Nature’s Canvas” by Tania Bain on the Jeanne Oliver Design Creative Network
AND
on the right, Inspired by Luke 5:11 my favorite Bible verse!  “And (she) pulled (her) boat up on the shore, left everything and followed Him.”  The Constance Version

naturestickgirl

Blinkin Squiggle

Inspired by a wonderful class I took with Ivy Newport called
“Rainy Day Art Journaling”.  You can take it too, HERE.
I call this piece
“Darkness Into Light – Cleansed by the Blood of The Lamb!”

IMG_5769

“He has loved us with an everlasting love.” “Cleansed by the Blood of The Lamb.” “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, & mind.”

Blinkin Squiggle

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

2 thoughts on “Plaster Art Journal

    • Hi Victoria, isn’t it fun looking through other’s art work. I love it too and am often spurred on to try my hand at something new when I do. You are going to love making your own Plaster of Paris cover for your journal – I can’t wait to see what you think!

      Blessings,
      Constance

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

