Driftwood Girl

Banner3333333threehearts2You may remember a while ago I painted a picture in my SimplyLiving Art Journal of a girl, that I was practicing to eventually put on a piece of driftwood.

naturestickgirl

I had gone on a short drive with my kids along the Puget Sound and picked up some driftwood along the beach.  Of course being in the Puget Sound, the wood was all very wet, through and through and I had to sit it out to dry for quite a while.

Once the driftwood dried out, I was able to sand it down using a 150 grit sand paper.  I then covered it with a light coat of Clear Gesso to prep it to receive paint. I planned to use my Stabilo pencil, charcoal, acrylic, and watercolors.

IMG_4919

Using the original painting in my art journal as a guide, I used my sharpened Stabilo pencil to draw a rough image onto the driftwood.  At first, it was hard to get the hang of it, because it’s a much smaller area to be drawing eyes, nose and mouth on. There are also the natural cracks and crevices of the driftwood to work around.  It was a fun challenge though, and I like the results.

IMG_5175

Driftwood Girl by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Driftwood Girl by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Driftwood Girl by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

If you are interested in the class that I am taking to learn how to do this, you can visit Jeanne Oliver’s Creative Network and find the class titled “Nature’s Canvas” with Tania Bain.  I have really enjoyed it and there are still many more projects to do.

I pray blessings for you to have a wonderful day with our Lord Jesus Christ.  Please join me in a prayer of healing for my beloved sister-in-law who needs healing from cancer. Together we will ask of the only One who can heal her.

“Heal me, O Lord, and I will be healed;
Save me and I will be saved,
For You are my praise.”
Jeremiah 17:14

Constance

6 thoughts on “Driftwood Girl

    • Thank you so much Shelly! It’s wonderful to see you have stopped by. I hope all is going well with your new chicks – they are so adorable. I will stop by HumbleLittleHomestead to see how things are going 🙂
      Blessings,
      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is so beautiful! I was excited to see you transfer this picture to wood – and it is amazing! I had no idea how you would manage to get so much detail on a small stick – and you have done it – because you are a superstar artist! I love it!
    Praying with you for K xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Victoria, especially for praying with our family right now. This is hard, but God is good all the time! It was hard to draw and paint such small features onto the driftwood, but it is a good discipline to practice for sure 🙂

      With Jesus’ Sweet Love all the way to England!

      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

