September Devotion, Day 28

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 28
(You can begin this study on Day 1 HERE)
Blessed Is He Who Reads, Hears and Heeds

“Blessed is he who reads and those who hear the words of the prophecy,
and heed the things which are written in it;
for the time is near.” 

Revelation 1:3

Blinkin Squiggle

I love reading through the Book of Revelation.  It’s so fascinating to me just how Jesus’ disciple, John, was given this revelation.  We are told that John was on the Island of Patmos because of the word of God and the testimony of Jesus.  It also tells us that John was in the Spirit on the Lord’s day.

What would it be like to be alone and suddenly see Jesus?  What would you do if He began speaking to you in a loud voice from behind that sounds like a trumpet?

It reminds me of a day when I had been looking for a house for my husband and I…  Well, I think it would be more accurate to say, “looking for a house for me”.  Unlike, John on the Island of Patmos, I was in the flesh, not in the Spirit.

So I found this really cute house and just knew it was the one.  I called my husband at work and asked if he could swing by and look at it with a real estate agent after work. He calmly said, “No.”  I was not so calm.

Later that evening, I was marching around our apartment, quite upset.  Knowing that I really needed to pray, I decided to go out to the garage and get into the car – in the dark.  I wanted some alone time with God and I proceeded to demand that God meet me there in the dark!  As the words were rolling off my tongue, I could sense what I believed to be the presence of the Lord drawing near and I could not get out of that garage fast enough!  I quickly decided that I did not need that cute little house.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

As I read through the Book of Revelation, I am always watching and listening to how John responds to Jesus and what Jesus reveals to him.  What a truly humble man.  I have so much to learn, but I pray that God works this same humility in me.  I also pray that He will be patient with me as it can take a while before I get it.  Is this true of you too?  Do you pray that God will teach you humility?  Do you think it’s a dangerous thing to pray for?

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s read Revelation 1 and then write in our personal journals Revelation 22:17-21. Now spend time in prayer and wait on the Lord to bless you with His presence.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

We are almost to the end of September Devotion.  Only two more days!  I invite you to join me for the all new Gospel Read Thru In October.  It is my prayer that you will continue to come to SimplyLiving101.com daily, so we can read through the four Gospels during the month of October together.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, September 16, September 17, September 18September 19September 20, September 21, September 22, September 23, September 24September 25, September 26, and September 27

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 28

    • Hi Victoria,
      Revelation is amazing! It has so many wonderful verses to ponder and obey. I know some do not like to read it because, “It’s too hard to understand.”, but it is worth reading. Praying for the leading of the Holy Spirit and studying it inductively I’ve found is the best way.

      Thank you for stopping by 🙂
      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

