September Devotion, Day 23

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 23
Better Is A Day In Your Courts!

“For a day in Your courts is
better than a thousand outside.
I would rather stand at the threshold of the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

Psalm 84:10

Blinkin Squiggle

Even today, when I read Psalm 84, it reminds me of one of my favorite worship songs by Kim Hill, “Better Is One Day”.  I heard it sung live by Kim, I believe in 1999, when I attended the “Renewing The Heart – For Such A Time As This” conference in Seattle.  A friend who had tickets invited several of us to go and it ended up being a time of worship I will never forget.

The words to this song left me feeling as if I had truly entered into the courts of God and it changed the way I worshiped Him.  “How lovely are Your dwelling places” had taken on a real meaning to me, and I felt that I could relate with the Psalmist for the first time.

In addition to an amazing time of worship, the guest speakers came with messages that kept me clinging to God.  I listened intently to Joni Eareckson Tada speak about the accident that changed her life at only 17 years old,  and I heard Kay Arthur speak for the first time on a lie that moms often believe, a topic I had never heard anyone speak on, but helped me to make a deeper commitment to my children.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

At that conference in Seattle with some special Christian friends I learned something new about worship and placing my hope fully in God;  That while we are still on this earth waiting for Jesus to return, we can come into the presence of God, come into His courts with praise.

Since learning this, my soul has had many times of longing and even yearning for the courts of the Lord;  “My heart and my flesh sing for joy to the living God” at the thought of dwelling there one day; “How blessed are those who dwell in God’s house!  They are ever praising You.”

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s take time to write Psalm 84 into our personal journals.  Remember to use your very best handwriting.  You may like to take time to listen to “Better Is One Day” by Kim Hill and praise God along with her.  It will be a nice start to your day.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom
Thank you again for joining me for September Devotion.  I look forward to hearing from you in the comments below. 🙂

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, September 16, September 17, September 18September 19, September 20, September 21, and September 22

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 23

  1. Thanks for these thoughts Constance, it’s something that I find I need daily reminders of. I tend to get caught up with life and can easily forget the joy of simply being in God’s presence and being known by Him.

    My handwriting is terrible so I probably won’t write this one out by hand but I’m thinking it would be a great psalm to memorize by heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by Caleb! I pray daily for you and your family while ministering in the Ukraine. Thank you for your faithfulness to God’s people, I hope all is well. Psalm 84 is short and should be easy to memorize since we know so much of it by heart already 🙂

      Blessings,

      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

