September Devotion, Day 21

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 21
Return to Me With All Your Heart

“‘Yet even now’, declares the Lord, ‘Return to Me with all your heart,
and with fasting, weeping and mourning;
And rend your heart and not your garments.’
Now return to the Lord your God, for He is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger, abounding in lovingkindness and relenting of evil.”

Joel 2:11-13

Blinkin Squiggle

I had a conversation with a Christian friend whom I had not seen for a couple of years. I knew her life had taken a path of hard decisions and I continued to pray for her, unsure of exactly how she was doing.  On this particular day, I was glad I was able to rejoice with her in a new season of life, as I listened intently to all she had to share with me.

As she spoke, I was reminded of the qualities that I really enjoyed about her from so long ago.  She is a very sincere, intentional, and loving person.  I have always liked hearing what she was thinking, because she had amazing eye contact that held my attention, and when I spoke with her, she seemed to drink in every word.  This is such a rare thing to find.

Although she did speak a little of the hardships she had endured, she mostly chose to praise God for all He had brought her through.  She was attending church again, and she felt so glad to be back in the arms of God after many decisions that had led her away.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

When we were done talking and she had to gather her kids to go, I thought to say only one thing, “No matter where we go, God is always right here, steadfastly waiting for us when we return.  He is always faithful even when we are not.”  From experience, she was now able to wholeheartedly agree.

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s first take time to read Luke 15:11-19 and then write a few very important verses in our personal journals today.  Remember to use your most beautiful handwriting as we write out the wonderful homecoming of the prodigal son in Luke 15:20-24.

Take time to consider what your response might be as the parent of this young man. Would you welcome him as cheerfully as this father did?  Would you prepare a huge feast and rejoice by giving him new clothing, a ring and new shoes? Does grace and forgiveness come easily to you or is it a struggle?

Praise God for His faithfulness to always give us grace and forgiveness!  Now, let’s take time to finish the story by reading verses 25-32.  

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

I pray that you are enjoying these devotionals for the month of September.  I am loving writing them.  Please take time to pray for me today and ask God to continue giving me wonderful Scriptures to pass on to you for the rest of this month.

Each of us are precious to Jesus and He loves to spend time with us in His Word.  Thank you for taking time to stop by and spend time with me as well.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, September 16, September 17, September 18September 19, and September 20

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

Leave a Reply

