September Devotion, Day 20

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 20
Sing To God

“Let the Word of Christ richly dwell within you,
with all wisdom
teaching and admonishing one another
with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs,
singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God.
Whatever you do in word or deed,
do all in the name of the Lord Jesus,
giving thanks through Him to God the Father.”

Colossians 3:16-17

Blinkin Squiggle

I love verses like the ones above, where God gives us clear instruction for a Godly lifestyle.  These instructions allow us to move from merely hearing the Word of God, to also doing what it says.

In these verses I see that I can obey God by reading the Bible on a daily basis.  Not just a little, but a copious amount so that I am allowing it to dwell richly inside of me.  I can slow down as we have been doing in these devotionals, write it out and really examine what it says, then change my lifestyle or my thoughts to line up with God’s Word.

I can also see that I am to sing with thankfulness in my heart to God.  Worship is a huge part of our lives as Christians and one form of worshiping God is singing to Him, expressing our thankfulness for all He has done for us through His Son Jesus Christ. God has given us many old beautiful hymns, the Psalms, and spiritual songs in order to do this.

These verses also tell me that whatever I do, whether in word or in deed, I am to do in the Name of Jesus, giving thanks through Jesus to God the Father.  This can be a wonderful daily gauge for me as to whether I will say or do a specific thing.  If I am to do everything in the Name of Jesus, there are probably many things I would choose not to do, not wanting to associate His pure and holy Name with that particular word or deed of mine.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

The Word of God is so applicable to daily life.  If we allow it to dwell richly within us, we will have the wisdom we need to teach and admonish one another in a way that is pleasing to God.  I know as a parent of four, I need all the wisdom I can get to do this and still sing to the Lord with a truly thankful heart.

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s take time to write out all of Colossians 3 in our personal journal.  Now reading back through what we have written, let’s underline in red anything we are told to do. For instance, in verse 1 we will underline “keep seeking the things above“, in verse 2 we will underline “Set your mind on the things above“, and in verse 5 we will underline “consider the members of your earthly body as dead to immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and greed“.

Now slowing down, let yourself scan over how we are to live.  Pick five of the underlined areas that you can begin doing right away and pray, asking the Holy Spirit to help you obey them today. 

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

I cannot believe that we have completed twenty days of September Devotion already! I am loving doing this devotional with you and would like to receive a comment from you letting me know what you think. 🙂

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, September 16, September 17, September 18 and September 19

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 20

    • Hi Victoria,

      Thank you so much stopping by SimplyLiving 🙂 This devotional has been going very well and I am loving doing it daily along with you. I have not yet posted the devotional for today. You can pray for wisdom for me, as what I have typed up does not feel quite right. I have been praying for peace and any changes that need to be made before I post it.:) Thank you so much my Sweet Friend – I praise God for you and your encouraging words at just the right time!

      Blessings,
      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

