September Devotion, Day 19

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 19
Ask of God

“But if any of you lacks wisdom,
let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach,
and it will be given to him.
But he must ask in faith without any doubting,
for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea,
driven and tossed by the wind.
For that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord,
being a double-minded man,
unstable in all his ways.”

James 1:5-8

Blinkin Squiggle

When I was in my mid twenties, I had an opportunity to go deep sea fishing with my Dad off Newport Bay on the Oregon Coast.  It is an experience that I am glad I’ve had, but honestly, I would never think to do it again.

The initial thought of going was fun.  I remember stopping at a sandwich shop to get plain ham and cheese sandwiches.  My Dad said, that if it didn’t have the mayonnaise and other condiments on it, it would keep us from getting seasick, and even though I thought it a strange thing to have for breakfast, it worked.  We didn’t get sick.

I remembering heading out and thinking the boat was going to break into pieces when we hit the “breakers”.  They seemed appropriately named at the time.  Then we finally got to the smoother waters and just kept going until land could no longer be seen. There was only water and sky everywhere we looked.

We caught lots of fish, and more than one fish on our line at a time.  That part was exciting too, but the thing that stood out more to me than any other part of the trip was the motion of the waves.  We were tossed to and fro on the waves; one minute way, way up, and then next way, way down, and it didn’t matter how long we were doing this, it never got comfortable and I secretly longed to get back on stable ground.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

In these verses, God tells us through James, that this is what it’s like when we need wisdom, but we ask of God without faith, or maybe we don’t ask God at all.  Do you know the feeling when you are trying to make a decision, but it just won’t come and you feel emotionally tossed to and fro on the sea?  You cannot figure out what to do; one minute you feel up and then next down, and sometimes as if you might be broken into pieces.  It is probably a good time to ask God in prayer, not just for wisdom in the matter, but for the faith to believe Him in the matter.

Inspired to Cherish
Even though we have already read Proverbs 3 in our devotional, let’s head back to this wonderful book of wisdom and read it again.  I have mentioned to you that in the morning before my husband leaves for work, he reads one chapter of the Proverbs to me and it always seems to give some form of wisdom to remember throughout my day.

Let’s read the entire chapter of Proverbs 3 out loud and then write it out in our personal journal.  Now, on a 3 x 5 card let’s write out verses 5-6 and put it to memory.  I cannot tell you how many times in one week I will recall this verse and even speak it to my children.  It is a wonderful reminder and worth memorizing.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

If you have made it all the way through to Day 19, thank you so much for staying the course with me!  I love how our personal journals have filled up with so much wisdom from the Word of God and I look forward to meeting you here each morning.  Thank you for visiting and please leave a comment below.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, September 16, September 17, and September 18

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 19

  1. The quote from James is so powerful. I often feel that I am being tossed about, and pray for firmer foundations and longer roots into God’s wisdom and purpose.
    I loved reading about your fishing trip too! My Dad was a fishmonger, and I remember one year on a family holiday to Scotland he went out on a fishing trawler for a week. He loved the adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Victoria,

      James is a very powerful and convicting book. There is truly not a moment in our day when we do not need the wisdom of God about one thing or another. I would love to hear more stories of your father’s fishing trips; I can’t even imagine being on one of those boats for a whole week! 🙂 And a family holiday to Scotland seems dreamy to me 🙂

      Blessings,
      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

