September Devotion, Day 17

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 17
The Fear of The Lord

“The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever;
The judgments of the Lord are true; they are righteous altogether.
Moreover, by them Your servant is warned;
In keeping them there is great reward.
Who can discern his errors?  Acquit me of hidden faults.
Also keep back Your servant from presumptuous sins;
Let them not rule over me;
Then I will be blameless, and I shall acquitted of great transgression.
Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.”

Psalm 19:9, 11-14

Blinkin Squiggle

There is nothing that drives the fear of the Lord within me like the account of David and Bathsheba.  Right from the beginning, I begin thinking, “Oh no!”  I can feel every muscle in my body begin to tense up as I force myself to read through to the end.

It doesn’t matter how many times I have read it.  I still feel the same each time. The fact that God knows all things is very real to me, and when someone like King David who loves God so much, known as “A man after God’s own heart”, and has a desire to be obedient and pleasing to God falls into such great sin, it is overwhelming for me.  It reminds me that no one is without sin on this earth and all of us struggle with it.  No matter how hard we try, we stumble.

It does me good to remember what Jesus said when the scribes and the Pharisees brought the adulterous woman to Him.  They wanted her to be stoned for her action, and when they persisted in asking Him, He said, “He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”  He could have said this to any of us, not just a Pharisee.  We all have to put our stones down and walk away, humbly.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

I wonder if King David felt like Paul described in Romans 7:24 when he said, “Wretched man that I am!  Who will set me free from the body of this death?”  I’m so thankful that he answers his own question.  It’s the same answer for all of us who have placed our faith in Christ…  “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!…”

Inspired to Cherish
Today, let’s read Psalm 51.  It is called A Contrite Sinner’s Prayer for Pardon – It was written by David when Nathan the prophet came to him regarding Bathsheba.

Which part of this Psalm can you relate to?  I love verses 10-13, especially verse 13. Pick at least four verses from this Psalm that really minister to you and write them out in your personal journal.  Now let’s spend time in prayer asking God for the verses we have chosen.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

Let’s join together to pray for the people of Chile, Hawaii, and California as the earthquakes and tsunamis cause devastation and continue to threaten their lives.  I pray that wherever you are on this day, you are safe and blessed.  Thank you for visiting with me in God’s Amazing Word.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13September 14, September 15, and September 16

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

Leave a Reply

