September Devotion, Day 15

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 15
Eternal Weight of Glory

“Therefore we do not lose heart, but though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day.  For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.
2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Blinkin Squiggle

Several years ago a friend gave me a gift.  It was a little glass, oval-shaped dish with a lid.  I loved the beautiful colors and it was so delicate.  But the most precious thing about it was on the inside of the lid where it read, “What is seen is temporary, what is unseen is eternal.”

I had the perfect place in my home to display it, tiny as it was, and  I wanted to be able to see the verse on the inside.  So I thought it might be a good idea to place a pretty rock in such a way as to hold open the lid – but it slipped while I was putting the rock into place and the lid broke in many pieces on my table top…  I only had the gift in my possession about ten minutes.

Oval Dish, Photography by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Oval Dish, Photography by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

I almost cried, but after I found some glue and began gluing the pieces back together, the verse came into view once again and the truth of God’s Word written on the inside was driven deep into my heart.  What is seen, like this sweet little man-made dish, is temporary, but the gift of life with God through faith in Jesus Christ is eternal.  Though we cannot see it now, someday Heaven will be reality.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

The suffering, trials, tribulation, pain and sorrow, though they seem like such a burden at times here on this earth, God sees as momentary, light affliction that is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison.  Paul says in Romans 8:18, “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.”

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s read Revelation 21-22 this morning.  Isn’t it wonderful to read about Heaven?  I love to spend time just looking up at the clouds, imagining that Jesus is coming to take us to our Eternal Home to be with our loving Father.  Come Lord Jesus, Come.

In our personal journals let’s write out Ephesians 1:3-14 and then spend some time praising God for all He has done for us through His Son Jesus Christ.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

Thank you for being such a wonderful blessing.  As you visit this blog each morning, I am blessed to spend time with you in God’s wonderful Word.  Please leave a comment below, I love hearing from you.  Please watch my new video “A SimplyLiving Day”.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10,  September 11, September 12, September 13 and September 14

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 15

  1. Thank you again for being used by God to share just the right verses for me today. I have been getting a little agitated today and needed reminding that the seen things are really not so important! And as we are talking with our boys about bereavement sharing images of heaven is so helpful. We were amazed to imagine whole pearls the size of gates!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

