I’m Learning To Knit!

Banner3333333
threehearts2

On Saturday I attended a $15 knitting class for two hours!  A great deal indeed and the teacher was fabulous!  Where you ask?  Down in the Harbor.  If you are from this area, you know where I’m talking about – a cute little shop called “Rainy Day Yarns”.  I highly recommend checking it out if you want a quaint place to learn to knit and fellowship with a few really nice ladies.  Also, it’s across from the little white church with the steeple bells that chime on the hour.  Beautiful!

I looked around the shop and found a toddler dress that the owner had knitted and then picked out some yarn to make it.  She was very helpful and encouraging, and even though I had no idea what she was talking about, because I crochet instead, I didn’t feel silly at all.

Knitting Photograph by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Knitting Photograph by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

The first thing I learned in the class was to cast on using both ends of the yarn ball!  I have never heard of such a thing, have you?  Once I got the hang of it and got through that first row, it was a breeze.

Knitting Photograph by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Knitting Photograph by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

The cute little dress starts at the bottom and is knitted on these round needles which I have never used before!  The bottom of the skirt is about 3 ” of the seed stitch, so the teacher had to teach me how to read the instructions and then how to make this cute little stitch.  Purl one, knit one, purl one, knit one and so on.  After 3″ then I get to move on to 9″ of just knitting.  I love it.

Blinkin Squiggle

Have you started any knitting or crocheting projects since fall is here?  Have you wanted to learn something new lately?  If you’ve never learned to crochet or knit, it’s never too late and it’s really fun too 🙂

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

4 thoughts on “I’m Learning To Knit!

  1. I’m so excited that you are learning to knit! And already you know something that I don’t – how to cast on using both ends! Are you knitting with both ends too or did you snip off one of the strands after you cast on?
    It looks so pretty! I’m looking forward to seeing it grow 🙂

    Like

      • Also, I might add, you do not cast on with both strings(as if one), instead, you hold both strings separated from each other, one around your thumb and one around your index finger. You catch a loop from your thumb and tuck it under the index finger and pull out one loop to cast on with. I will have to make a short video showing you. 🙂 It’s really cool and makes you feel very special! Ha!

        Con-

        Like

Leave a Reply

