September Devotion, Day 12

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 12
Prayers of Blessing

The Lord bless you, and keep you;
The Lord make His face to shine on you,
And be gracious to you;
The Lord lift up His countenance on you,
And give you peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26

Blinkin Squiggle

This is the prayer that Aaron and his sons were to bless the sons of Israel with.  When I find a prayer of blessing in the Bible that really stands out to me and that I can feel myself praying for others, I tend to begin using it in my daily prayer time for my family and friends.  I also tend to pray that prayer for so long that it becomes a part of my life – it just automatically comes out of me any time prayer is needed.  In my prayer journals, as I re-read, I often find the same prayer being prayed day after day, over a long period of time and it still means so much to me.

For years, I have prayed for God to raise our family up to be mighty men and women of God, and to raise up Godly spouses for each of our children.  I pray that we would be blessed and have His peace every time we lay our heads down to sleep.  I prayed that our bodies would be healed if we needed it and that we would hunger and thirst for His Living Word, reading it daily and obeying it.

For years, I have prayed over those who leave our home to go to their home, or to work, or run errands, or just to play;  I pray Lord, please surround them with angels and take them safely to their destination and back again.  Please give them wisdom, understanding and knowledge for their jobs, and discernment for the times we live in. Please give them favor with You and with those whom they come in contact with today. Please help them to be bold to share the Gospel of Jesus with anyone You lead them to.

For the past several years, I have prayed similar to what is often called “The Prayer of Jabez”.  I love the words in this prayer, and they are wonderful to pray for those I love and hold dear to me.  I take these words before the throne of God in all sincerity of my heart. That our family and friends would be blessed indeed and that our territory would be enlarged. That God would keep His hand upon each of us and the enemy far from us. That He would make us a blessing to the world and to glorify Jesus in all we do. 

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

Do you have a special prayer for you, your family and friends that really resonates with you?  Do you pray for missionaries and pastors and others who take the Gospel out to huge portions of the world?  Having a specific prayer in mind that we would pray for anyone, may give us a sort of foundation to begin building upon and encourage us to pray daily or in a specific moment of time, always allowing the Spirit of God to lead. Our prayers of blessing matter to God and to those we pray for.

Inspired to Cherish
Isaiah 55 has been one of my most favored chapters in the Bible since I became a Christian over 20 years ago.  I have memorized verses 6-13 in the past, but as I read through this chapter now, I can see I need to refresh!  Let’s read Isaiah 55 out loud today.  Read it boldly, as if all the people of the world are listening.  Don’t read it silently, let it out!

Now let’s write out Isaiah 55:6-13 or just write the whole chapter if you feel led to do so.  Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

Isaiah 55 is a beautiful chapter and I get especially excited when I read, “For you will go out with joy and be led forth with peace; The mountains and the hills will break forth into shouts of joy before you, and (imagine this) all the trees will clap their hands”.  Oh my goodness!!!!!  This is when I decide to use a specific prayer – when I feel it in my soul – so that the prayer means something from me to God for someone else!!!  Make sure you FEEL it!

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8, September 9, September 10, and September 11

With Jesus’ Sweet Love,
Constance

Leave a Reply

