September Devotion, Day 11

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 11
Put Your Toe In!

“… and when those who carried the ark came into the Jordan, and the feet of the priests carrying the ark were dipped in the edge of the water… the waters which were flowing down from above stood and rose up in one heap, a great distance away…”
Joshua 3:15-16

Blinkin Squiggle

In February of 1995 I was pregnant with our second child.  God had been drawing me to His Son for quite some time, but this time, the calling was so strong I could not deny Him any longer, I had to find a church.

I drove around looking for a church that my Dad had told me was on 72nd in Tacoma.  It should have been easy enough to find, not far from our home at that time, but I turned right instead of left on 72nd and got lost.  Then, as I was trying to find signs to the highway to go home, there it was… a church!  I walked in and was greeted by an usher who introduced himself and took me to the front of the sanctuary.

I heard the message and listened intently to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  When the invitation was given, I went forward to give my life to Jesus.  I was met by an altar worker and I shared that I wanted to be the wife and mom God had created me to be and I needed to repent of my sins and surrender my life to Him.

Two weeks later I miscarried our precious baby.  I didn’t know the Bible, and I barely knew God.  No one from the church knew me, but they came to our home since I had filled out a visitor’s card.  I stayed in my room upstairs to recover for three days; I didn’t talk with anyone other than family.

It was a hard time, but during those three days alone with God, He laid this question on my heart, “Am I still God?”  I took my time in answering – I wanted to be sure of what I believed, but my emotions were strong like a flood, and overwhelming.

In the Book of Joshua 3:15-16, the Jordan river was at flood stage. God was going to part the waters for them to cross over into the promised land as He had done for their fathers when they came out of Egypt, but the priests had to put their toes in the water first.

Before putting their toes in, however, I wonder if they had to answer a question within their hearts too; “Was He still God?” I imagine that flood water of the Jordan felt strong and overwhelming, but they did it – and so did He!

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

Before I left my room to move on as a changed person in so many ways, I answered that question.  I chose by faith to believe that He was God, that He is God, and that He will always be God.  I had a hope that He was who He said He was, and it would be alright.

Inspired to Cherish
Hebrews 11 is known as “The Faith Chapter”, and rightfully so. Let’s take time to read the entire chapter.

Now let’s write out a few of the verses from this chapter in our personal journal. Since we are writing the very words of God, let’s really slow down and think about what we are writing and of course, write in our very best writing.  Let’s write verses 1-3, 6, 13-16 and 39-40.

As humans, we want to see a miracle before we will put our faith in the One who created us.  But if we will stop and take a good look at ourselves in the mirror, we will see one of His most amazing miracles of all.  The flood is strong and overwhelming all around us, it’s time to put our toes in the water, by faith.

Blinkin Squiggle
SeptemberDevotionBottom

I have been writing these devotions the night before, so that I can wake up and do them along with you and I am praying daily that September Devotion is as much of a blessing to you as it has been to me.  Please continue to join me and leave a comment if you feel led to.  I love to hear from you 🙂

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, September 7September 8September 9 and September 10

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 11

  1. This is so amazing and beautiful. Amazing that so new in your faith you were still able to know that God is God, I praise God for giving you that strength and conviction. And how amazing He was to lead you to just the right church on that day!
    Thank you for these verses to write out of this amazing chapter that takes us through some of God’s most powerful works of the Old Testament. I was really struck by verses 13-16 and how important it was and is to keep our eyes on our homeland and to keep the desires of our heart as God’s desires for us, never looking backward but always forward! I’m blessed by how this ties into our recent conversations xx

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting Victoria. Our testimonies and these verses go hand in hand. They are both about faith in Jesus Christ! I would love for more people to share their testimonies, they bring healing to those who listen 🙂

      Blessings,
      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

