September Devotion, Day 8

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 8
Then The Lord Answered

“Then the LORD answered Job out of the storm.
He said:  “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
Tell Me, if you understand.
Who marked off its dimensions?  Surely you know!
Who stretched a measuring line across it?

On what were its footings set, or who laid its cornerstone
while the morning stars sang together
and all the angels shouted for joy?
Job 38:1, 4-7

Blinkin Squiggle

Sometimes I feel like I have an answer for everything.  I kind of go through my days answering every question asked of me, and even when its not asked of me…  I know that sounds kind of funny, and I should put a Ha! or a 🙂 at the end of that sentence.  But, it’s really not that funny.  That’s not really how I want to be known.

There are many things I don’t have an answer for and I love the idea of being able to say, “I don’t know”, and being okay with the answer.  Or just not saying anything at all, instead just pondering the question being asked.  Can you imagine just enjoying a good conversation, just listening and maybe even learning something important from it, but having no response to it? Just pondering.

The Bible says that Mary, the mother of Jesus, did a lot of pondering.  As I read through the Scriptures I find myself wanting to answer for Mary sometimes, and I wonder why she just pondered.  Why didn’t she tell them what she knew about Jesus?  Was she naturally quiet? Was she not allowed to speak by the Holy Spirit, or was there something deeper; some kind of wisdom given by God?

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

Some people are naturally quiet and genuine, good listeners.  Some of us have a hard time calming ourselves, especially our tongues.  Like me, is this a place that you struggle?  Is it something you want desperately to get control of?  Let’s pray together.

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s read James 3 and then write out in our journals James 3:17-18.  Now together, let’s pray sincerely for this wisdom that comes from above which is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering and without hypocrisy.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

Well, I just came home from watching the new movie “War Room”.  It was a wonderfully made movie and I nearly cried through the whole thing!  I just want to spend the whole night praying for our country.  Thank you for joining me for another day of September Devotion.  I’ll meet you at the Throne!

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5September 6, and September 7

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

Leave a Reply

