It’s Canning Time Again!

Banner3333333
threehearts2

Canning season is upon us again and I love it!  Since we still have plenty of jams and apple sauce to get us through until next fall, I’ve decided to only can my soups!  I love my soups – they are so warm and so yummy when the weather gets cold out.

Soup by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Soup by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

I have actually made two huge pots of soup in September already and we have eaten it all.  It has cooled down just enough after our really hot summer, that it seems perfect for a hot bowl of soup in the evening for dinner.  Coupled with a piece of sour dough bread – Oh my!

Soup by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Soup by Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Today I set to work again and made another big pot of soup and am now putting it in jars to be canned by my oldest daughter.

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

She won’t allow me to use the pressure cooker – probably for good reason! Ha! 🙂  But I let her do that work because I get to make the soup which is fun for me.

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Tomorrow my youngest daughter and I are going to make up some homemade chili and we’ll can that too. Vegetable/Chicken and Chili soup canned for the next year is a beautiful thing and it’s fun to make with the family and eat with the family 🙂

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Blinkin Squiggle

Are you doing any canning this year?  Are you canning jams or soups?   Maybe you are super excited to can and doing both!  I’d love to hear about it.

UPDATE:  Got all the Chicken/Vegetable soup made, three huge pots!

It’s definitely enough to last us a while 🙂  Which means not as much cooking for me – and this is a good thing because the only meals I can cook without burning it or catching the kitchen on fire are Tacos, Soup, Turkey Dinner (I have caught the turkey on fire before and set off all the fire alarms) Ha!, and Spaghetti and Meatballs.  I think there is one other thing, but I won’t include salads…  Oh!  Chocolate Chip Cookies – that’s a meal right? 🙂

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

WOW – I’m impressed!  That’s a lot of jars of soup 🙂  Canning is so much easier if you share the job with someone.  Especially if you tend to be a little dangerous in the kitchen.

Here’s my daughter putting in the jars and pouring in the water…

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

And there’s the lid!  I can’t wait until they are all done!

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

Canning soup with Constance of SimplyLiving101.com

I love this time of year – Autumn brings fun times in the kitchen with my lovely girls and yummy soups and jams for all to enjoy all year long!  Thank You God for family and food!

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Canning Time Again!

  1. Your soup looks delicious! Do you pressure can it? I’ve wanted to try canning soups but haven’t found the time yet. Just the basics, like tomatoes and green beans, is about all I have the time and energy for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I make the soup and put it in the jars, and my lovely oldest daughter pressure cooks it for me 🙂 That’s so I don’t blow up the house – Remember, I’m shooting for SimplyLiving around here 🙂 Ha!

      Constance

      Liked by 1 person

    • We could use some elderberry cough syrup around here too. I actually had to bundle up a bit more this morning when I went down to feed the chickens. A nice hot cup of tea was a wonderful welcome as I sat down to do September Devotion and work on my Luke study. Have a wonderful day with Jesus Victoria! 🙂

      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

