September Devotion, Day 7

SeptemberDevotionTop  September 7
The God Who Works Wonders

“Your way, O God, is holy;
What god is great like our God?

      You are the God who works wonders;
    You have made known Your strength among the peoples.

      You have by Your power redeemed Your people,
            The sons of Jacob and Joseph.”
Psalm 77:13-14

Blinkin Squiggle

I love to tell this story, but it seems to me that I have told it so many times that you may have heard it already.  If you are visiting today and have already heard this amazing story, please forgive me for repeating myself.  However, I do believe it is worth repeating – so you might want to stick around and read it again.

After my husband and I had our third child, we considered that we should sell all of our baby stuff at a garage sale.  Deep inside I didn’t want to sell everything because I really wanted to have another child, but we went through with the garage sale anyway.

I was so sad, especially to sell my white wicker bassinet set that my mother-in-law had purchased for me at a garage sale when I was pregnant with our first child.  But a lovely Christian woman in her forties showed up with her three teenage daughters and she was happy, but somewhat overwhelmed because she had found out that she was pregnant and she didn’t have baby stuff around her home anymore.  I couldn’t think of a better person to sell all of my precious things to.  She was so blessed as her girls helped her load up her car.  I went in my house and cried.

Fast forward to the fall a few years later and our friends who lived about an hour from our home, north of Seattle, called to schedule our usual once-a-year dinner around Thanksgiving time. I was excited to get together with them and catch up on all that had happened over the year. They had two girls and had a baby boy that was growing quickly and I couldn’t wait to see them all.

After dinner my friend asked if I’d like to go up stairs and help her box up some of her little boy’s baby things he had outgrown to send to the Good Will – I was glad to help.  As I knelt on the floor at his little bed, she began handing me things from his closet to put in the boxes. Some clothes that I must have handed down to her, some toys that looked familiar, then some fitted sheets for a bassinet, and a bouncy chair…

A conversation began that went something like this.  “Did I give these to you?” She said, “No, I got them from my sister-in-law after her baby grew out of them.”  Then she handed me the folded up white wicker bassinet along with the lacy ruffles that hung around the bottom and the toys that hung on the bouncy chair and I knew without a doubt that they were mine!  I asked where her sister-in-law lived and she said in University Place – exactly where I was living when I had my garage sale a few years before!

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

What do you think about miracles?  Have you ever witnessed first hand the working of God’s wonders?  How did you feel at that moment?  Did it change your perspective of who you thought God was?  What did it do for your faith?

Inspired to Cherish
Let’s take time to read through Psalm 8 and then write out this entire Psalm in our personal journals, using our very best writing. According to this Psalm, what was David considering when he wrote it?  Let’s consider the work of God’s fingers and all that He has done – all that He is able to do.  In your journal, under Psalm 8, write the following question:  Is there anything too difficult for God? Really search your heart and then answer the question.

Blinkin Squiggle

SeptemberDevotionBottom

My friend gave my baby stuff to me to take home that night and not long after that event, I became pregnant with our fourth child. She is now 12 years old, but I can still remember the details of that evening clearly and how God can work wonders beyond our comprehension.  There is nothing too difficult for Him.

You can find the other days to this devotional here:  September 1, September 2September 3, September 4September 5 and September 6

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

Leave a Reply

