Inspired by Color

Banner3333333threehearts2In my post “Getting Inspired Artistically”I talked about what I do when I don’t know what to do to get inspired artistically and I showed you these colors that my son had photographed that really inspired me.

Photograph by Matthew R.

Photograph by Matthew R.

I laid items that I had in my art supplies out on my art table to inspire me to create something.  It worked so well that it kept me busy creating for a few days.  Let me share the three projects with you.

SimplyLiving101 art desk

SimplyLiving101 art desk

In the picture above from left to right, I wanted to create something on the canvas you see with the materials laid out in front of it.  It turned out like this…

"Wings & Wheels" inspired by Ezekiel's vision in Ezekiel 1

“Wings & Wheels” inspired by Ezekiel’s vision in Ezekiel 1

I absolutely love how this picture looks on my wall.  The colors are amazing and it continues to inspire me to be creative every time I walk by and see it.  The perfect place for it is on the wall above my art desk for sure!

Next I wanted to create some pendants using the teal and brown colored leather you can see in the picture, as well as the adorable heart and oval shaped metal pendants. They turned out so cute!

Pendants, Metal & Leather: Love, Believe, Wisdom, Inspire

Pendants, Metal & Leather: Love, Believe, Wisdom, Inspire

I  think these will be adorable on key chains or a necklace and they are so fun to make!

Finally, my third project was to make a sketch journal cover using my lovely house mixed media art  that I call “Cloudy Days”.  These come in three different sizes and although they are sketch journals, I use mine for notes and drawing and  I love it!

"Cloudy Days" Sketch Journal Covers

“Cloudy Days” Sketch Journal Covers

The smallest one is so cute at 4.5 x 6″.  It’s perfect to pack in a small purse.  The medium is 6 x 8.5 ” and this is the one I carry with me everywhere.  The largest one measure 6.75 x 10″ and is great for a backpack or a larger purse/bag.  Of course I add Scripture or something to inspire us to cherish the things of God above all else!

"Cloudy Days" Sketch Journal Covers

“Cloudy Days” Sketch Journal Covers

Well, there they are, all three projects inspired simply by checking out the Facebook of someone who has similar tastes to mine, then placing some materials on my art desk to catch my eye as I pass by.

Three Art Projects by SimplyLiving101

Three Art Projects by SimplyLiving101

Let me know if you find this post inspirational and helpful.  I would love to read your comment if you  leave it below!  Have a wonderful and safe Labor day.

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

 

Leave a Reply

