Eggs and Art?

Banner3333333
threehearts2
Around our homestead chicken eggs and art go hand in hand, but I try not to mix the two 🙂  I’ve been working hard on a couple new art projects – the second of the three projects I mentioned in my “Getting Inspired Artistically” post is the heart and oval pendants.  They are made with a deep metal pendant, a piece of teal or brown leather, some fabric glue, a leather stamp and a complimentary colored pen to do some highlights.

IMG_4778

But as I looked out the window from my art desk, I saw the sun peaking through the big fluffy white clouds and from the front porch I saw the yard is greening back up with the rain we’ve been having of late, and I just had to go out and play!

IMG_4788

The first thing I noticed was my Hon- cleaning out the gutters and getting ready for the heavy rains we typically have during fall, winter and spring.  He looks happy to do his “Honey Do This, Honey Do That” list (that’s what my Grandpa Millican use to call it 🙂 – I hope he doesn’t mess up the patio I swept and re-arranged this morning.  But I’m not going to complain – I’ll just sweep again, if I have to.

IMG_4783

Then I headed down to the pasture to see how the chickens were enjoying this beautiful sunny, but not too hot day.

IMG_4808

This new flock of chickens we purchased in May are now busy laying eggs – and lots of them!

IMG_4832

They are so fun to gather from the hen house every morning, and again a few times through the day.  The nine girls are being quite obedient in putting them into the nesting boxes inside the coop.  If you are living in my area and would like some eggs, I sell them for a reasonable price – just let me know.  They are freshly picked every day, organic and free-range.  The best eggs ever!

My husband is glad to see that he didn’t waste any time by building the boxes.  I like to keep some nice clean hay inside each box to encourage them to “Come on in and lay an egg!” It seems to be working…

Inside the coop, I can see all is well…

IMG_4820

Oh look, one more egg !  That makes 6 that I’ve collected so far today!  You go girls!

IMG_4818

They are still so small and adorable!  And they are all different colors since I have an “Easter Egger” hen in their midst.  Her name is Egger Allen Poe, but my kids call her Lois.  I’m not sure why…

IMG_4819

After checking out the chicks, I stopped by to see how Mopsy is doing.  I found her in her run, sitting on her throne in the sun – what a cutie pie!

IMG_4824

Well, I have to buzz out and run some errands.  Hope you all have a blessed Day – take some time and enjoy the sunshine! 🙂

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

 

6 thoughts on “Eggs and Art?

  1. Awww… your chickens are cute! They look about like ours, we have a light brahma, black australorps, and one like your red one. I like your nesting boxes and how you use limbs for roosts. Mopsy sure is adorable too! 🙂
    Your pendents are really pretty, very creative!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Shelly for stopping by. Aren’t chickens fun! We love getting all the eggs and I like just trying to organize life with chickens to see how SimplyLiving I can make each day with them. It seems to go well for all involved as long as they stick to MY plan. Ha! Mopsy is a sweetheart – she belongs to my youngest daughter and she is a Dutch Holland. We have three roosters and nine hens and the red rooster you saw that looks like yours is a Rhode Island Red! He’s also my youngest daughter’s and I call him Big Red, but my daughter calls him Hazelnut 🙂 We love our light Brahma – her name is Brahma Girl. I just watched one of your videos at your blog! I love going around with you via the camera. I’ve been thinking about adding some videos to SimplyLiving101 as well. We’ll see.

      Blessings,
      Constance

      Like

  2. Yes, chickens are so much fun! Good luck at trying to organize life with chickens though… they have minds of their own so just when you think you have everything all organized and under control, they’ll catch ya off guard and all your hard work will be demolished. Ha!
    Yes, you should add some videos, I always enjoy watching others’ videos and find it interesting to see how they have their places set up. Doing videos was mostly my youngest daughter’s idea, she thinks it’s fun to have a youtube channel of our own. For me, it’s taking some getting used to because I’m kinda camera shy, plus learning to edit videos has been a huge learning experience too!

    Like

    • Hi Shelly,

      I’ll have to take some lessons from you first, on both accounts that is – 1) regarding chickens, and 2) regarding making videos. You do very well at both! I would really love to hear more of the history of your farm as well. Is there a specific location on your blog that you tell the backstory more in depth? Can I chat with you via email to get details regarding uploading a video? Is it difficult? My email is constanceofolalla@gmail.com Boy, I have a lot of questions… Ha Ha! 🙂
      Blessings,
      Con-

      Like

      • Thank you, I appreciate the compliment! I did a post titled “A Bowl of Chili to Celebrate” which describes our move here, but I haven’t gotten into the history yet but plan to. My great grandparents actually traveled here by horse and wagon, settled and homesteaded this place back in 1883. I have a newspaper article that was published in 1945 that was basically the diary of what they went through as they settled here. It’s very interesting! I want to visit with relatives and get more research done before I write about it. I figure this fall and winter will be a good time to do that since I won’t be as busy with the garden then. Sure, I’ll be happy to answer some questions, will send ya an email.

        Like

      • I am really looking forward to talking with you more Shelly! WOW – What history – that is truly amazing and I can see why you want to take the time very soon to learn as much as you can 🙂 I look forward to receiving an email from you 🙂

        Blessings for SimplyLiving!
        Constance

        Like

Leave a Reply

