September Devotion, Day 4

SeptemberDevotionTop  September 4
Come to the Light

“This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil.  For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.  But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.”
John 3:19-21

Blinkin Squiggle

I remember when I was in the sixth grade and I skipped school for many days.  My life was hard at that time.  My parents were separated and going through a divorce and I was having a hard time dealing with it all.

Even though I was not a Christian, I prayed to God, making a deal that if He would keep me from being found out, I would go to school the next day.  Well, “the next day” came, several times, and I was not found in school, and as the Bible says, “You can be sure your sin will find you out.”, and I did get found out! My attempt to keep it all in the dark, only kept me miserable.

I don’t remember much about my punishment, except dreading it, but afterwards I distinctly remember feeling relieved and happier. My dark secret had been brought into the light and it felt good.  It seems funny that the very thing I feared brought restoration and peace.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

Have you ever had a time where you lived in a dark, secret place? Were you truly happy there, or did you live in misery as I found myself doing?  Did you make any deals with God there in that dark place?  Do you remember feeling the desire for someone to find you out and release you from the bondage?

Inspired to Cherish
Today, let’s write out 1 John 1:5-7 in our personal journals and take some time to break it down as much as we can by writing the following questions under the verses in our journal and then answering them using only 1 John 1:5-7 – I find it helpful to also record the verse I found my answer in.

  1.  What is the message that John (and the other disciples) heard from Jesus?
  2. How much darkness is in God?
  3. If we say we have fellowship with God, yet walk in darkness, what is true of us?
  4. What two things are true of us if we walk in the Light?

It is so much more peaceful to walk in the Light of Jesus then to dwell secretly in the darkness.  As Christians, we may find ourselves in places of darkness periodically and we need to confess our sins and know that He is faithful and righteous to forgive us of our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness as 1 John 1:9 says.  This instantly restores us to the Light.

Blinkin Squiggle

If you are visiting this blog and you are not a Christian, it  could be that God has drawn you to His Son Jesus Christ.  If you have found yourself in darkness and desire to come into the Light, please know that we all have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God.  We all will die because of our sin, but God has offered eternal life through Jesus Christ.  God has demonstrated His great love by sending His Son to die on the Cross for us and He did this while we were all sinners.

But now if you confess with your mouth Jesus is Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved and have salvation.  This is true:  Whoever calls upon the Lord Jesus will be saved.  Please let someone know if you have chosen to come into the Light and follow Jesus today!  I would love to hear from you in the comment section below 🙂

SeptemberDevotionBottomIf you have made it all the way through to Day 4 with me, thank you so much for hanging in there!  I love reading and writing God’s Word with you and I am loving how our personal journals are quickly filling up with so much wisdom.  Your presence is inspiring me to cherish the things of God above all else! Hallelujah!

Here is “September Devotion” for September 1, September 2,  and September 3 

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

Leave a Reply

