September Devotion, Day 3

SeptemberDevotionTopSeptember 3
Longing for Pure Spiritual Milk

“Therefore, putting aside
all malice
and all deceit
and hypocrisy
and envy
and all slander,
like newborn babies,

long for the pure milk of the word,
so that by it you may grow 
in respect to salvation,
if you have tasted the kindness of the Lord.”
1 Peter 2:1-3

Blinkin Squiggle

When my husband and I were new Christians, I remember driving along the Puget Sound talking about how amazing it would be to read the Bible every day, naturally, with no struggles – to just do it, like eating when you’re hungry.  At that time we could not even imagine the Bible being Daily Bread for our very souls.  We knew it was important, but we didn’t know how important.  We also did not know that conversation was the beginning of a longing for the pure milk of the Word that would literally change the way we lived our lives.

Not too long after this, we committed to participating in a church-wide fast.  It was during that fast I made a change in my life that provided time of reading God’s Word daily and I believe it was one of the best decisions I have made as a Christian.  God has answered the desire of my heart from so long ago and it makes a huge difference for me daily.

SeptemberDevotionDaisy

Something happens to our faith when we read the Bible regularly.  Romans 10:17 says, “So faith comes from hearing and hearing by the Word of Christ.”  When we feel weak in our faith, or feel that we are not growing in regards to our salvation, we must pray that God will help us to long for the pure milk of the Word.

Inspired to Cherish
I love to read Psalm 119.  There’s just something in the words of the psalmist that reveal so clearly his longing for God’s Word in his life.

Today let’s read all of Psalm 119 and then write verses 129-136 in our personal journals.  Take it slowly, and write it as if you are writing a love prayer to God, writing His very words back to Him.  It’s beautiful.

Blinkin Squiggle

Now let’s read these verses out loud to God.  Make it a personal prayer.  Let’s own the words and cherish them, as if we are the psalmist, desiring and longing for the pure milk of the Word that we might grow into mature children of God.

SeptemberDevotionBottom

Thank you for spending another day in September cherishing the Word of God with me.  It’s wonderful and I am enjoying it greatly.  Please feel free to leave a comment at the bottom of this post.  I really do love to hear from you.

Here is “September Devotion” for September 1 and September 2

Blessings for a SimplyLiving Day with Jesus,

Constance

2 thoughts on “September Devotion, Day 3

  1. Thank you for sharing these verses from 1 Peter, I immediately had to go looking for very similar words….and found them in Ephesians 4:31 – I had to look that up because I love the way that the following verse tells us what to do instead. And then I realised that this letter from Peter does that too, only instead of instructing us to be kind, tenderhearted, and forgiving it instead directs us straight to this spiritual milk which will work on our behalf – how amazing!

    I am so enjoying your study in the Word this month. I had already just started another study, so now I am getting an extra dose of the Word every day, and it makes such a difference – it is so true that the more we read the more our appetite and longing grows. Thank you for blessing me!!

    Like

    • Hi Victoria, I love how the Word of God enlightens itself. God has written it out so carefully for us, in a way that inspires us to study and show ourselves approved. I’m so glad you are enjoying September Devotion. I know that it is the highlight of my day to sit down and wait on the Holy Spirit to lead in just exactly which Scriptures to use and then bring to mind the things He has taught me over the years, as well as life experiences that go along with the devotion. It’s a blessing!!

      Thank you for commenting!
      Constance

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

