Getting Inspired Artistically

Banner3333333threehearts2How do you get inspired artistically?

One thing I do, when I don’t know what to do, is think of a color scheme I like.  For instance, the other day I was checking out my youngest son’s Facebook page and was totally inspired by some colors he had posted, probably for one of his covers or something.  He has always been a great source of inspiration for me, since we have the same taste in color.  Well, this is what he posted:

11058630_1477654962559242_170144033326467177_n

Picture taken by Matthew R.

This just resonates with me and it makes me happy and full of ideas for art.  If you have a favorite artist or blogger that inspires you, scroll through their site and just look at the color schemes they use.  We should inspire each other in this manner.  There’s nothing new under the sun, it all comes from God, so don’t be hesitant to allow yourself to be inspired by other artists. You have probably done the same for those around you, and it’s a good thing to help each other out.

Now before I lose that inspiration, I gather some things together that give me more ideas.  Usually, I work with what I have – rather than buying more stuff that I may never find the time to use.  Here’s a picture of what has been laid out on my art desk since I saw Matthew’s colorful photo the other day.

ideasall

There are three projects that I have in mind here.  I have them all sectioned off with some of the crucial tools I will need to complete each project.  I try to lay out tools that I enjoy working with, which gives added inspiration and encouragement as I pass by – to get working on them and not just leave them sitting out to collect dust.

idea1

This first project (you can see how it turned out HERE) is a mixed media idea that would be added to the canvas I painted in the background.  I have a stamp, some colored doilies, some vintage papers with various articles and butterflies, some large words, and my stencil for added texture. Most of these items are from Tim Holtz and can be purchased at Michaels.  Also, I have pulled up a video from one of the classes I take with Jeanne Oliver.  The video is not teaching art.  It’s a video of Miss Mustard Seed sharing her business story.  It’s very inspirational and just gets my brain thinking.

idea2

The second project (you can see how they turned out HERE) I have in mind is to make some pendants that I learned how to make by Sheila Atchley.  These fall into the scheme I have in mind because of this amazing teal colored leather I found at Michaels. This project is so fun and easy to do and the outcome is so sweet!  I love making them 🙂

idea3

This third project is a smaller version of the “Cloudy Day” journal covers I make.  To make the houses for the front cover, I have pulled out some colored papers that work in the color theme I have been inspired by.

Blinkin Squiggle

Well, there you have it.  This is what I do when I don’t know what to do and need some inspiration.  Hope you enjoy it!  I would love to hear from you, so leave a comment below 🙂

Happy SimplyLiving!
Constance

One thought on “Getting Inspired Artistically

  1. Wow, I love this peek at your desk! I am so so so excited to see how your pendants turn out 🙂 and your houses in those colour schemes will be just beautiful. I am smiling just thinking about the fun you will have with these projects, and also how happy it must make you just seeing it all laid out, even before you have time to work on them! The planning sure is half the fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

