Two Faces and an Angel

Banner3333333

threehearts2

Well, I’ve been working along with Jeanne Oliver on her Documented Life Project Art Video, and the results are so cool!

If you check out Jeanne’s Documented Life Project Art Video, which I highly recommend, you will quickly see that I did not follow along with her beautiful sketch idea of “Ephemera”, her theme for July.  However, I did have a great time using the technique that she showed while making three different faces.  One of the faces, on the left, I was inspired to sketch after looking through Melange, “On a Roll With Journaling” by Jenny Walker, that I found in the July/Aug 2015 issue of Somerset Studio magazine, p. 86.

Here are some pictures of my double page layout in my newest plaster cover journal:

I first used matte medium to cover the entire two-page spread in my journal with tissue paper by Tim Holtz

I first used matte medium to cover the entire two-page spread in my journal with tissue paper by Tim Holtz

3faces2

After it was totally dry, I began sketching out my images using my Stabilo pencil and my charcoal pencil.

3faces3

Then I began shading with my wet round brush, periodically dipping into white Gesso as Jeanne suggests.

3faces4

Here is a close up of the largest face – I chose to leave the butterfly from the tissue paper in the background as part of the face, and I like how it turned out.

3faces5

Here is a close-up of what will eventually look like an angel, she’s kind of strange looking… But you can see the wings beginning to form…

3faces6

This is the face idea that I got from Somerset Studio magazine – Melange, “On A Roll With Journaling” by Jenny Walker, p. 86.

It’s not done yet, but I thought I’d let you see how it looks so far.  It has been such a fun process and I really think if you are feeling artistic and are looking for some way to get it all out, definitely try this two-video series by Jeanne Oliver.  You will be so glad you did.

UPDATE:  You can check out this completed piece at Daily Art Journal.

SimplyLiving Blessings!

Constance

3 thoughts on “Two Faces and an Angel

Leave a Reply

