Book Review, Chapter 2

Banner3333333

threehearts2

NOTICE:  This Book Review is for Life On The Highest Plane: Chapters 1 & 2!!! – Scroll down for Chapter 1 Thoughts – Thank you!

Life On The Highest Plane:  Chapter 2 Thoughts

Whenever I read this chapter, I find myself so sad for Adam.  My heart truly goes out to God’s first man!  He had EVERYTHING to live a life of Godliness – he was without excuse, but then again according to 2 Peter 1:3, so do I.  Now my sadness turns towards me!  Still, I am thankful for this chapter to break it all down and get me back to the basics, the foundation of who we are and who we are not – Who God is and who He is not.

God is uncreated, eternal, infinite, heavenly, divine – the Fountainhead of all life.  God is a Person who thinks, loves and wills, but God is not a man like me!

Man is created, not eternal, finite, earthly, created from the dust of the earth.  Yet, like God, he is also a person who thinks, loves and wills – in the image of God, but man is not God!

Thought:  Oh how often I can easily get confused in this area of my thinking.  I make God out to be a mere man as if His thoughts and ways are just like mine.  I think He can overlook sin, just like I do…  And how quickly I can slip into the position of God – judging and cursing those who are God’s creation, made in His image – just like me. ( James 3:9-10)  This should not be!

I have to stop here and remind myself of how gracious God has been in sending His Son, drawing me to Him and giving me the Grace to believe, repent and be saved!  Through this, I have been restored to the place where I have the mind of Christ to think like Him, the Love of God flowing through me so I can Love like Him, and the Holy Spirit within me and a new heart and spirit to desire His will for my life and those around me!

Prayer:  Oh thank You Father, Son and Holy Spirit I can see that I have been made in Your image. 

Thought:  It’s interesting to think that Adam was made in the image of God, but also had the capacity for sonship.  It’s so true that we usually think the opposite direction, i.e.; God placed perfect Adam in the Garden knowing he would sin and need a Savior.

It is sobering to see that God placed perfect Adam on this earth to come into sonshiip with God.  Through Adam’s eventual sonship, all mankind would be blessed.  But Adam, instead of choosing this sonship, at the moment of testing chose to disobey God giving up his potential sonship, and thereby cursing all mankind.  WOW!

I have to say that my favorite part of Chapter Two is the breaking down of the man – body, soul, spirit.  This totally clicks with me.  It reveals to me why it is SOOOOO important for us to exercise self-control through the indwelling of God’s Holy Spirit and why it is SOOOOO important for us to practice discipline when it comes to our senses – we are very moved by what we can see, touch, smell, hear & taste and all these are greatly influenced by the things of this world.

My greatest desire is to be so in tune in my spirit with God, through the reading of His Word, prayer, meditation and fasting that my bodily actions influence this world rather than the world influencing me.  I think then I should be raptured to Heaven with such joy of being one with my Savior!!!  Oh Glory!  Oh Happy Day! 

In the margin of the book, I wrote this thought:  We minister to the world and reconcile them to God by communing with God daily, regularly, constantly – directing our soul to the things of God and surrendering totally.  Then our body will relay this message to the world in its actions/deeds – saturated and steeped in the Love of God.

So, I can now see clearly that God made man to be in constant communion with Him through his spirit.  There was absolutely nothing within Adam to hinder perfect obedience to God.  Likewise, there was nothing outside of man that would cause him to disobey God.  Everything was made perfect – it was all very good and it met every need of man.  God made a perfect man, placed him in a perfect place and had a perfect relationship with him.

Adam had the right to will and he had the power to will within God’s circle of will – this was true both internally and externally for Adam.

Thought:  As I think of myself in this triune state, it seems a little easier to focus on putting my efforts toward nurturing my spirit – the place of God awareness – rather than nurturing my body, the place of world awareness. If I do this, I would begin to live out Jesus’ words in my life that I should not worry about clothes, or what I will eat – my thoughts would be on His Kingdom and His Righteousness and He would care for the true needs of my body, just as He provided for the first man and woman in the beginning.  He is faithful and has been all along!  I love my God!

Prayer:  Father, You have always been a Faithful Provider and Protector.  Please help me to exercise this Truth in my daily life as I live as child of God, wife and mom.  Help me to influence the world with this Truth as I saturate myself in the things of You.  I long to work daily as a minister of reconciliation as You have called me to do.

Thank you so much for stopping by SimplyLiving101!

Blessings for the New Year!

Constance

Blinkin Squiggle

Life On The Highest Plane: Chapter 1 Thoughts

I love how this book starts out with the idea that “The Bible is God’s studio in which will be found the picture of each of His created beings.”, and then asks the question, “Do you wish to see your photograph?”

The thought of truly knowing what the God of the universe sees and thinks of when He looks at little, tiny me is intriguing, but somehow extremely scary as well.  He knows everything!  There is nothing hidden…  Like the woman at the well when she carries on what she believes to be an everyday normal conversation with another human being (with the exception that He is a Jew and she is a Samaritan), she learns quickly that He knows all things about her – nothing is hidden.  Wow!  She must have been overwhelmed and relieved all at the same time to hear her deepest secrets spoken out loud by  another!

Then all of mankind is divided into three classifications, and of course this sparks my curiosity as well.  How many times in the past nineteen years I have pondered the question, “What exactly is a carnal Christian?” and, “Is that even possible?”, “Is that true salvation?”, and so on.  Yet, Paul clearly points out that we as Christians can live in this manner.  Sigh…     Still there is the flip side, the higher plane – that’s where I so desperately want to live, just tell me how to get there and I’ll do it…  Oh, there’s only one Way, you say?…  (Please excuse my ramblings, I somehow amuse myself in this manner)

My most favorite part of Chapter 1 is the breakdown by Scripture of what the “Natural Man” is truly like.  This part of “Life On The Highest Plane” has helped me not only see the true depravity of my personal state of the first thirty years of my life – before God drew me to His Son, Jesus Christ – but has also helped me when I am having a conversation with one of my heathen family members.  Their lack of reverence or fear of God is now understood more clearly, and my frustration can be set aside while compassion quickly takes its place.  My note in the margin from the first time I read this book says, “Remembering what I was like before Jesus and studying the “Natural Man”, helps me understand the attitude of those in my life who do not love God.  It causes me to pray more sincerely for them.”  Also, I do believe that it is so important to remember what God has saved me from and how much I LOVED Him when He did so.  I must never forget my first LOVE for Christ and keep calling myself back to it, nor should I ever forget who I was, and what black, black darkness He has brought me out of.  It seems easy to slip into a subtle belief that I have always lived in His Glorious Light – but not so!

In regards to my thoughts on the “Spiritual Man” and the “Carnal Man” – this being my third time of reading through this book, my notes in the margins are interesting to read. 

On page 19, second and third paragraph, I wrote, “This explains to me why some Christians still participate in certain practices while others no longer do so.”  – As a fairly new Christian, I always thought it strange to walk out the front doors of our church and find people smoking near the “church-provided” ashtrays…

As I read about the “Carnal Man” again, my thoughts were:  “This is the moment in this book where I have to remember the best is yet to come.  Like the sinner needs to see himself as a sinner before he realizes he needs a Savior, so the “Carnal Man” has to see his “baby” state before he can begin to mature in Christ.

So, now I can see how viewing myself as God sees me is not so scary.  After all, it can only result in my steady maturing – but still there is some reservation of seeing the “real” me, that “deep down in my soul” me.  It’s like the first time I stared intently into my own eyes in the mirror.  There was something in me that didn’t want to look, I wanted to run away – it was very strange!  Now, I smile every time I catch a glimpse of myself in a mirror or in a window.  My kids laugh at me.  It’s Jesus in me that makes me do it!

On December 16, 2010, I wrote in the margin of the “Carnal Man”,  “O Lord, I see myself as still carnal, yet know Your work is not finished.  I want so desperately to know the deep things of You – to willingly yield myself unreservedly to the Lord Jesus Christ – to believe the appropriating of Christ in my life with all His graces and gifts!  I believe Lord, I believe – please let it be so!  – I truly want Jesus to be Lord of my whole life – holding nothing back!

On February 6, 2011, I wrote, “God has already greatly answered this prayer!  As I read this again, I feel every bit of it more true of me than ever before!  Hallelujah, I have believed!  I am surrendering to Jesus more and more – I am living by the Spirit and not by my flesh more and more!  Hallelujah!  Thank You Father for doing this in me!  Please don’t stop until Christ returns.

Today, April 23, 2014, as I read this for a third time, my thoughts are reflecting on how God has drawn me from the “Natural Man” to His Glorious Son, Jesus Christ, and then steadily moved me from “Carnality” as a Christian to “Spirituality” – walking by the Spirit and not in my flesh.  The fact that Jesus has died to forgive me of my sins and also give me power over sin is very real to me!  I depend daily on this power over sin!  Yes, there are still periodic moments that I grieve the Holy Spirit and myself by choosing to obey my fleshly desires – but O how I truly hate these moments and quickly repent of them!  I am delighted to say these are no longer the norm.  My minute by minute desire is to walk with my Lord at the guidance of His Faithful Holy Spirit – I want so desperately to please my God alone.

Please don’t stop the work You have begun in me Father – I am prone to wonder so far from You, to walk by the leading of my flesh and not of Your Holy Spirit, to lean on my own understanding… – keep me at Your side, don’t let me go!  Keep me in Your strong grip Jesus, I so desperately need You!  You are my Everything!

What a wonderful book.  I highly recommend it to be read by all who desire a closer walk with their  Lord and Savior.

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

Leave a Reply

