Christmas – A Time To Shine!

Banner3333333

threehearts2

Christmas is only 15 days away! Can you believe it? I love this time of year when all our family comes together and we get to see those who have gone off to college or who have been working crazy hours.

During Christmas we want to declare our excitement for the Birth of our Savior, so we put up twinkling lights along our driveway fence and we cover some of our bushes with nets of tiny white twinkling lights, and add bigger lights to a not-so-tall evergreen out front.  Beautiful! We will get our Christmas tree, and decorate it with beautiful lights and colored decorative Christmas balls, and draw names and then begin to place colorfully wrapped Christmas gifts under the tree.

The mailman has been delivering Christmas cards almost daily now and we hang them on a long thick red sparkly Christmas ribbon so we can see all the pretty faces of our friends and family and pray blessings for them.

We make our Christmas cards and get them ready for my oldest son to return next week, then all I’ll have to do is take a picture of him with the whole family, get copies made and put the last touches on the cards and off they’ll go. How fun!

AllTheseThings

I’ve been gathering stocking stuffers here and there and will put those up early next week.

All of these things help to make our hearts and our home shine.  You could probably add some of your own wonderful traditions to this list and it would all be absolutely gorgeous!

One of my favorite things to do is go for a drive the night before Christmas and listen to the Christmas story of Jesus’ birth on the radio.  We will see all the beautifully lit up houses, and then drive back home, down our own driveway with the twinkling lights and the Christmas tree in the window. What a wonderful time of the year to be joyful in our Lord!

As beautiful and fun as all the lights and decorations are, when I sat down to read the story and scripture reading for Advent today from “Handel’s Messiah Family Advent Reader”, I could quickly see that God spoke of another kind of “Shine” through Isaiah when he said:

Blinkin Squiggle

“Get yourself up on a high mountain, O Zion,
bearer of good news,
Lift up your voice mightily, O Jerusalem,
bearer of good news;

Lift it up, do not fear.
Say to the cities of Judah,
“Here is your God!”
Isaiah 40:9

threehearts2

“Arise, shine; for your Light has come,
And the glory of the LORD has risen upon you.”
Isaiah 60:1

Blinkin Squiggle

I want to get up on a high mountain and lift up my voice to bear the Good News of Jesus Christ – Shout it to the world!  I don’t want to be silent and not even say, “Merry Christmas”, due to fear.  I want to say to everyone, “Here is your God!”.  I want to SHINE for Jesus just like all the twinkling lights we have put out, and even brighter because He has come and His glory has risen upon us!

I would love to hear of your Christmas traditions and all your beautiful ways to celebrate the birth of our Lord Jesus Christ.  How do you shine for Him?  Are you ever afraid to say “Merry Christmas”?

I have made SimplyLiving101 just for you.  I pray that you find it to be a great encouragement to cherish the things of God above all else.  Don’t forget to check out my Bible study “December Love” written free just for you in the right side bar ——->

Merry Christmas!

Constance

One thought on “Christmas – A Time To Shine!

  1. I love reading your vivid description of decorating your home – I can picture it in my mind and it is beautiful! I was working away from home today and walked around the gardens at lunchtime praying about my 2015 goals, and collecting a handful of greenery and fir cones, which are now sitting in two little glasses on my windowsill. I love collecting those wild bits that say ‘Christmas’. Hopping over to day one of your bible study now…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

