Time Management

Banner3333333

threehearts2

I have four kids, two are adults, one is in high school and one is in junior high school.  All of them have been homeschooled all their lives.  My husband and I did not know that the decision we made so long ago would have such a profound effect on the lives of our kids, as well as on our own lives as parents.

Making the choice to homeschooling has been a great choice for us, and there are many great choices to make for our kids, not just homeschooling.  But whatever those choices are, our kids still need one-on-one time.  They need to feel that someone is listening to them.  That what they think matters.  They have some marvelous ideas.  Some are crazy, but so are some of mine!  I know what it feels like to have someone really listen to me.  But listening takes time, and time is not something we have a lot of anymore because we have become very busy people.

Blinkin Squiggle

I know that you might say that we all still have twenty-four hours in each day.  But you have to admit that with all the media we have shooting into our veins, our time has been replaced with information.  The clock has turned into a piece of technology that dictates our every move and thought.  Even as I’m retyping this post, I have the timer on so I don’t spend all day doing it.  (I could blog all day – I love it so much!)  But, how can we get out of the addiction to this poison and turn back to time?  Not just any time, but quality time.  Quality time to spend with those around us who matter most and need us to slow down and listen.

I think one way to do this is to have time that we do not allow media into our homes.  A whole day or two or three throughout the week or month when we shut down all communication in way of technology.  I can just hear the, “What!!!?”, that would be shot at me right now.  But I’m serious.  I think if we did this and we gave that time to those around us who need and deserve it – such as our spouse and our kids – we would begin to see something amazing happen.

WhatIf

And what about those of us who are feeling like we just can’t get a hold on our fast paced lives?  What if we took a whole day off during the week and literally spent it basking in the presence of God.  Picture it.  Reading the Bible for a copious amount of time, writing a prayer out in a journal based on what we have read in the Bible.  Talking to God and then spending time in meditation and contemplation of who He is and How marvelous He is.  Can you imagine how Jesus would reveal Himself during those times?  Can you imagine the peace that would flood our souls as we spent time in repentance and praising and worship?

It is a wonderful thing to spend quality time with God – our eyes and heart, mind and soul focused on Him alone.  His Word cleansing and making us right with Him.  His favor upon us.  His blessings all around.  I am going to make it a point to spend more one-on-one time with kids and REALLY listen to them.  I want to be able to be an example as well as teach them how to spend time in God’s Word, eyes focused on Him and learning to trust Him to take care of all the rest of life.

Blinkin Squiggle

I have shared this once before in “My 500 Words” challenge.  But I wanted to post it – just in case I missed someone!  What do you think about this post on time management?  Do you think it’s possible to take a whole day out of our week to give to God and fit in more one-on-one time with the teens in our lives to teach them this example and to listen to their ideas?  I would love to hear from you!  Thank you for stopping by, please leave a comment.

Happy Choices!

Constance

3 thoughts on “Time Management

  1. It’s good to read this again today. Yesterday I had some lovely 1-1 time as I took each of our children out one at a time to buy presents for each other and daddy ready for Christmas and a birthday we have coming up. It was so lovely to be 1-1 and not have our conversations interrupted. And see how thoughtful they were about their shopping with very limited budgets.
    It’s so easy to be only half present, but true presence is to be savoured. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

    • Hi Victoria,

      I just got home from spending some one-on-one time with my daughter during her 1/2 hour break at work. We just sat in the car and really spent a 1/2 hour together. She’s so special to me! Isn’t it so wonderful to slow down and just really listen!?

      Our pastor talked about us being present, but not really present – all the technology seems to grab our attention constantly. Seems we are all feeling the same way. Time to slow down, open our eyes and look into the eyes of the one in front of us and open our ears and close our mouths and listen. Just listen.

      Thank you for a wonderful comment! Blessings to you and your beautiful family!

      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Martha says, “Thanks for posting this on your blog. I have been feeling this way for a long time and ready to not be so busy…”

    I am so thankful for each of your comments! They mean so much to me and encourage me to continue inspiring you to cherish the things of God above all else.

    We are in this together 🙂 Happy SimplyLiving
    Constance

    Like

Leave a Reply

