A Voice Is Calling

Banner3333333

threehearts2

Here I am, still in my favorite book of the Bible and still amazed.  I love God’s Word and I’m SO loving Advent this year!  I don’t really know what the difference is – maybe it’s this blog and writing to you daily and sharing my thoughts from the Word of God.  It is nice to not hide them all away in a journal as I used to do.  Now only some go there, but a lot of my thoughts go here.

As I was saying, I’m still reading in the Book of Isaiah, specifically, Chapter 40:3-5

Blinkin Squiggle

“A voice is calling,
“Clear the way for the LORD in the wilderness;
Make smooth in the desert a highway for our God.

“Let every valley be lifted up,
And every mountain and hill be made low;
And let the rough ground become a plain,
And the rugged terrain a broad valley;

Then the glory of the LORD will be revealed,
And all flesh will see it together;
For the mouth of the LORD has spoken.”

Blinkin Squiggle

In the Gospel of Luke Chapter 3, we can read about John the Baptist and how he cried out words very similar to these of Isaiah.  The people who came to hear him recognized his words and asked who he was, and he told them he was not the Christ.  They asked if he was Elijah, and he said he was not.  Again, they asked if he was the Prophet, and again he said no.

In the Gospel of Matthew, Jesus said John was more than a prophet, a messenger that was to go ahead of Jesus and prepare the way before Him.  Jesus also said,

“Truly I say to you, among those born of women there has not arisen anyone greater than John the Baptist!
Yet the one who is least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he.”
Matthew: 11:11

Jesus also said in verses 14-15,

“And if you are willing to accept it, John himself is Elijah who was to come.”

Hewhohears

The words John the Baptist spoke are very important words and as I read them, I can see how I can obey them even today.  He said to “Clear the way for the LORD in the wilderness;” and “Make smooth in the desert a highway for our God.”  I wonder…  Is there a place within me where I still find myself wondering in the wilderness, a place like a desert – parched and dry?  Is there a place within my heart that I choose to keep from God?

This time of Advent seems like the perfect time to clear a way for the Lord Jesus to come into any place of  wilderness I may still dwell in.  To make smooth a highway for God in any dry and desolate places I may run to.  I know that this will take time and prayer – but my heart is ready and prepared for it.

John said that Jesus must be made great and John himself must be made small.  I pray this for myself and for you this evening; That in our lives Jesus would be in full view, our eyes fixed on Him and on His Kingdom, and on His righteousness.  I pray that He would become so great in our lives that we find ourselves frequently looking to the sky, expecting to see Him there with His arms stretched out, beckoning us Home!

threehearts2

Thank you so much for joining me here at SimplyLiving101.  I love to have you over for a visit.  If you have any thoughts on this post, I would love to hear from you – please leave a comment below.  It’s like getting mail in the mailbox. 🙂

Happy Advent!

Constance

P.S.  Yes, I am working very hard on illustrating and writing “December Love” – it’s coming!  UPDATE:  You can find “December Love” free just for you in the right side bar ——->

2 thoughts on “A Voice Is Calling

  1. Love this day’s post.. I finally received my copy of the Messiah Advent Reader and have almost caught up to this Sunday..It is a beautiful book and I will treasure it and introduce it to the family Sunday.. Love you and looking forward to getting together soon..  love you

    Like

    • Good Morning Kathy!
      I’m so glad to hear you purchased the Handel’s Messiah Family Advent Reader:) It truly is a keepsake and so beautifully illustrated. It makes Advent very special and I cannot recommend it enough! Enjoy Darling 🙂

      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

