Boundaries For My Mouth!

Banner3333333

threehearts2

While I was reading today, I spent some time in the Book of Job, which I love.  I was caught up in the way God answered Job in a whirlwind in Job 38 – just trying to imagine what that must have been like.  I can so relate to Job at this point…  You know that feeling when you just have to say it!  You can’t hold it back any longer, but you know you shouldn’t say what you are about to say – but it’s too late, the words come rolling out.

Can you feel your whole body tensing up as you grit your teeth and suck your breath in?  Then slowly the deep sigh comes and you close your eyes and shake your head back and forth into a downward motion?  You just want to humble yourself, because the words you spoke are haughty and not right and you just hurt the heart of the One who was listening.

You brace yourself because you don’t know what the response will be.  Will it come in the form of tears, with words like, “You have hurt me so badly – please don’t speak again!”, or will it be in a deep, thundering voice that seems to come circling in toward you from all directions, as if from a whirlwind?  That’s where I imagine Job is when God answers him, and this is what He says,

Blinkin Squiggle

“Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge?
Now gird up your loins like a man, and I will ask you, and you instruct Me!
Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?
Tell Me, if you have understanding, who set its measurements?  Since you know.
Or who stretched the line on it?  On what were its bases sunk?
Or who laid its cornerstone, when the morning stars sang together and all the sons of God shouted for joy?
Or who enclosed the sea with doors when, bursting forth, it went out from the womb;
When I made a cloud its garment and thick darkness its swaddling band,
and I placed boundaries on it and set a bolt and doors, and I said,
Stop

Job 38:2-11

Blinkin Squiggle

CannonBeach34

threehearts2

Have you ever considered God to be the One who laid the foundation of the earth or set its measurements?  He describes the making of the earth like the building of a house; foundation, measurements, cornerstone.  He says the sea is enclosed with doors and like the day a baby was born, it burst forth from the womb!  He gave the sea a cloud as its garment and thick darkness is its swaddling band.  It was God who gave the sea its boundaries, with a bolt and doors and told it how far up onto the shore it could come, and it may come no farther.

I pray that God will place a bolt and doors on my mouth.  I pray that He will give it boundaries and tell me, this far you shall speak, but no farther.  May He say to me, “Here shall your proud mouth stop!”.

This is a bold prayer, I know.  But someone has to pray it.  Do you ever spend time with God and ask Him to give you boundaries?  I would love to hear your thoughts on this portion of the Book of Job.  Thank you so much for visiting today!

Happy Praying!

Constance

2 thoughts on “Boundaries For My Mouth!

  1. Been there, done that. And, will probably do it again because I’m imperfect. On the other hand, I’ve experienced God’s power when I wanted to say something, but He stilled me. As James said, our tongue is unruly. We need the Lord to bridle us, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

