Every Day God Calls…

Banner3333333

threehearts2

This morning as I spent time in God’s Word, my selected reading was from the Book of Joshua.  I began in the last chapter of Deuteronomy and then worked my way into Joshua.  As I did, some very familiar words jumped out at me.  Do you know what I’m talking about?  Do you know that feeling of just sitting down to enjoy basking in the presence of God through His written Word and then those “life-giving” Words, grow legs and jump off the page at you!  Well, that’s what happened.

So, as I was saying, I was reading along, slowly and really soaking it all in.  Reading about Moses and feeling sorry for him… really able to relate as I have no doubt that due to my disobedience there have been many things left undone for me – things I will never know of this earth, things that God intended for me to behold.  I read of how God allowed Moses to see the promised land, but did not allow him to take the sons of Israel in because he had struck the rock too many times.  Oh, how I can relate!

Can you feel how Moses must have felt?  Standing there with the LORD on the top of Pisgah, opposite of Jericho.  Can you imagine looking out over a land you have tried to get into for the past forty years?  I’ve often pondered about how Moses’ life was lived in segments of forty years; Forty years in Egypt, forty years in Midian, and forty in the wilderness.  I like how God does that, it makes it easy for me to remember 🙂 Now, listen to what God says to Moses:

Blinkin Squiggle

“…This is the land which I swore to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, saying.
I will give it to your descendants’; I have let you see it with your eyes,
but you shall not go over there.”
                                                                                                                                          Deuteronomy 34:4

The next verse says,

“So Moses the servant of the LORD died there in the land of Moab,
according to the word of the LORD.
                                                                                                                                          Denteronomy 34:5

I’m glad I went back one chapter into Deuteronomy 34 before reading in the Book of Joshua like I sat down to do.  It really set the tone for what I was about to read.  It not only reminded me about Moses and how God loved him and was with him always, but it also reminded me that Joshua was filled with the spirit of wisdom after Moses had laid his hands on him and so the sons of Israel listened to him.

Right away God tells Joshua to take the nation of Israel into the promised land and that He had given it to them.  He tells Joshua that wherever the soles of his feet touch down, He had given the land to them.  He said that no man would be able to stand before Joshua all the days of his life and that He would be with Joshua just as He had been with Moses.  He would not fail him nor forsake him.  Now the Words that jumped:

“Have I not commanded you?
Be strong and courageous!
Do not tremble or be dismayed,
for
the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”
                                                                                                                       Joshua 1:9

Blinkin Squiggle

It sounds so awesome to be called and led by God in this way.  Do you ever wonder if He would call you in this way as well?

Every day God calls and draws people to be strong and courageous and to place their faith in His Son Jesus Christ.

Every day God calls those who have believed in His Son to be strong and courageous and obey His commands and to not turn to the left or to the right.

Every day God calls us to be strong and courageous and promises us that He will be with us and not leave us nor forsake us.

Today, what is God talking to you about?  What clear message is He giving you?  What exactly is He saying to You or calling you to do?  Today, like Joshua, let’s say:

“…but as for me and my house,
we will serve the LORD.”
                                                                                                                     Joshua 24:15

Happy Thanksgiving!

Constance

Leave a Reply

