Which Path Darling?

 

Banner3333333

threehearts2

I like different paths and I like lots of options.  While celebrating our 27th anniversary, my husband was commenting on how much he likes things to stay the same and how much I like change.  It’s true, and yet somehow we meet in the middle – at that happy place where I give him sameness and he gives me room for change.

I can visualize so many times when we have been walking along the beautiful path of life hand in hand, conversing and laughing, just enjoying each other’s company and all the splendor the sun reveals. Then suddenly without warning the sky becomes dark with thick clouds and the path is divided.  Which way will we go?  What happens next?

Blinkin Squiggle

yard172

I wonder where my desire for change comes from.  Is it from the fact that I lived in the same house for the majority of my childhood and I just want to get out as an adult and see as much as I can and even live in the midst of it if possible.

Maybe it’s from having a love for God’s beautiful creation and wanting to take in as much of it as I can.  Maybe both are true.  I suppose only God knows.  Only He really knows my heart.

I am thankful for my husband and his sameness, because when the path has divided, his sameness has served as a protection from something that could have hurt our family.  I haven’t always appreciated it as much as I do now, after being married for 27 years.  It has taken me time to realize that God is working through my husband in steadfast and faithful ways I cannot comprehend.

Now when the path divides I simply slip my arm in his and say, “Which path Darling?”.

“Search me, O God,
and know my heart;
Try me
and know my anxious thoughts;

Blinkin Squiggle

 See if there be any hurtful
way in me,
And lead me in the path everlasting.”

                                                                  -Psalm 139:23-24

Which is true of you?  Do you like change or do you like things to stay the same?  Do you know why you are the way you are?  I would love to hear from you and your thoughts on why some like change and some don’t.

Happy SimplyLiving!

Constance

One thought on “Which Path Darling?

Leave a Reply

