A Simple Feast

Banner3333333

threehearts2

There’s something about the autumn that sends me to the kitchen. Maybe it’s the warmth from things cooking, the colors, and the rich fragrances. Bringing the colors and fragrances of God’s amazing fruit and vegetables into the house from the well-tended garden is a marvelous thing for sure. The funny thing is I’m not much of a cook at all and if what I do doesn’t burn, it’s only by the grace of God! My daughter and I have an agreement: She does amazing canning and I do the cleaning. I can also bake cookies, but you probably already know that… “Connie’s Cookies” are known all over the world – they are famous! At least that’s what my kids and my husband tell me 🙂

I can also make wonderful soups. No pot of soup is ever the same in my house, even if I try. I learned how to make soup from my Great Grandma. She would literally put whatever she could find in the house into the pot and add some water, salt, and pepper. It always turned out amazing with some fresh baked bread and butter – that’s how my Mom made it also, and that’s how I make mine.

Blinkin Squiggle

moms soup

So I’m making a fresh pot of soup this morning and I thought I’d share it with you. This is what I found in my freezer and refrigerator:

Carrots, corn, peas, beans & lima beans
Summer squash and zucchini
A large onion
Small white potatoes
Chicken
1 can of Cream of Mushroom soup (don’t ask me why I’m adding this, I just wanted my soup to be a little creamy this morning and it looked like it would do the job).

I will add water, salt and pepper – just like Great Granny Smith, as well as some Thyme, Sweet basil, and Rosemary. There’s no special reason that I add these particular herbs. I just smelled them and they smell like they will go well with my list of veggies above.

Blinkin Squiggle

So, I’m going to cut everything up and put it in a huge pot of water and bring it all to a boil. Then I’ll bring it down to simmer for the rest of the day with a lid on it. I have a loaf of locally made sour dough bread that I’m going to toast and butter, and serve with each bowl. My kids and I will have our portion of veggies for the day and when my Hon- gets home tonight, after a hard day’s work, he will walk in and say, “MMMMMMMMM – smells good!”, and that’s why I do it!

Sharing soup recipes in the autumn is fun – and I would love you to share your’s. Please leave a comment below with your favorite autumn soup recipe.

Happy Autumn Cooking & Banking!

Constance

2 thoughts on “A Simple Feast

  1. Mmm this looks lovely Constance, I can almost smell it! I’m starting to think about soups here too, and had my first spicy beans yesterday too (which also feels like an autumnal dish!). My favourite soup is Sweet Potato, Coconut & Pine Nut Soup. I couldn’t find it online, so here is a summary: fry a chopped onion and 2 cloves chopped garlic in a tbsp of oil and 25g butter. Stir in 2 tsp red curry paste. Add 1kg chopped sweet potatoes, 570ml vegetable stock, 400ml coconut milk and 50g toasted pine nuts. Simmer for 15 minutes (until the potato is cooked). Blend the soup and then serve with a sprinkling of extra roasted pine nuts on top.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your soup recipe Victoria!
      Your soup sounds wonderful and really sounds like a true “Autumn Soup” – I can just smell it as I read through your ingredients. I’ll have to ask my lovely daughter to make it for me! 🙂

      Con-

      Like

Leave a Reply

