Raindrops & Words

Banner3333333

threehearts2

It’s a beautiful rainy day today.  Steady, big, drenching raindrops have been falling all through the night.  Pounding out a rhythmic sound on the roof and in my head while I slept very well – surprisingly.  After a long, hot summer, it feels as if each drop is watering my very soul… like each one is preparing me for something.

This morning as I sat down to write out Scripture and my prayers to my Lord, the rain reminded me of my two most favorite verses in the Bible:

Blinkin Squiggle

“For the ground that drinks the rain which often falls on it and brings forth vegetation useful to those for whose sake it is also tilled, receives a blessing from God;”  -Hebrews 6:7

“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return there without watering the earth and making it bear and sprout, and furnishing seed to the sower and bread to the eater;…” – Isaiah 55:10

Every time I read Hebrews 6:7, I pray that God will make me like the ground.  I want to drink the rain which often falls on me.  I want it to bring forth fruit in my life that is useful to those who spend time with me.  Those who want to dig deep and really know me.  As a wife and mom, I think of my Hon- and my kids.  When they are with me, I want them to benefit from me – like a harvest for them from God.

In these two verses I see that the rain often falls on the ground and in the form of both rain and snow it comes down from heaven.  It is coming from God, from His place in heaven – He is sending it down to us here on earth.  And He has sent it with a purpose:

Blinkin Squiggle

Isaiah says that it does not return to heaven without first watering the earth and making it bear and sprout and furnish seed for us! This is so beautiful!  Thank You Father for the rain – You are so good to us!

🙂 There is so much in Isaiah 55 – I always read the whole thing for good measure 🙂

I’m so thankful this morning as I read a little further in Isaiah 55:11 – God is not really talking about the rain.  He is talking about His Word.

“So will My Word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.”  -Isaiah 55:11

Blinkin Squiggle

WOW!  I wonder…  What will I worry about today?  There are so many things going on all over the world.  How will it affect me?  Will it take my eyes off the One who orchestrates it all? The One who ordains each raindrop and sends His Word forth which cannot be stopped and will be accomplished on this earth?  O Lord, keep my eyes on You today.

yard192

Here’s a picture of my homestead in the winter of 2013 – when God sent down the rain and the snow together 🙂  O Happy Rainy Day!

Remember to check out my new Bible study “November Thankfulness” provided free just for you in the right side bar —->  I’m writing it as you read this post – I’m getting it ready just for you!

 

Constance

2 thoughts on “Raindrops & Words

  1. I love how you’ve weaved the story of your morning in with the Bible verses and how they came to you. It’s a lovely read. So glad I hopped over from Raising Homemakers. And your November study looks great too – I’ll be back!

    Like

    • Thank you so much. My morning prayers and thoughts are always carefully placed into my journal, kept just between God and myself. But on this particular morning I felt God asking me to share. I’m glad I did. 🙂

      With Jesus’ Sweet Love,

      Con-

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

